Saturday, October 13, 2007. Wichita, KS

October 5, 2007 at 10:34 pm | Posted in Events | 3 Comments

What a strange day brewing for Wichita, KS.

On the same day (Louis) Leakey’s Angel Jane Goodall is speaking at Wichita State University, Answers in Genesis president Ken Ham is speaking at Sunrise Academy. One of the most visible and well-respected scientists alive today at a public university at 2PM, and one of the leaders of the anti-science movement that has made Kansas a laughing stock to the rest of the civilized world at a private school at 6PM.

Information about Jane Goodall’s visit to Wichita State.

Information about Ken Ham’s visit to Sunrise Academy. 

I’ll be attending both events.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Why?

    When I have attended local atheist meeting in the OP area, I have been treated quite rudely upon being recognized.

    And when ever I was at events where Krebs showed up, one of their crowd managed to point and snicker and laugh at me.

    Is that deal?

    To harass Ken?

    Just wondering.

  2. Christensen,

    I don’t represent an atheist organization, and I don’t feel I have to answer for anything that you claim Krebs did. I’m in no way affiliated with KCFS, but we do have similar interests, namely promotion of mainstream normal science education, and so talk from time to time.

    I didn’t go the meeting to harass Ken Ham. I don’t follow Ham around, and I’ve never even sent him an email, though I have reviewed a lot of his hideous and irresponsible propaganda. I’m aware that he’s the head of an organization known to misrepresent information to well-meaning people, including many who I know and love, who trust him because he earns their trust by claiming Christian interests. I’m not interested in changing or altering anyone’s religious beliefs, but I feel that if anyone who comes into my community to lie to it, I’d be irresponsible to my community to not voice my concern.

    I didn’t say anything at the Ken Ham meeting because it was all so bizarre, but I care deeply for my community and the people of Kansas. I have a right to protect my friends and family, and that’s all I’m trying to do.

  3. The purpose of KCFS has little to do with promoting mainstream science.

    It has more to do with critisizing religion.

    And yes, we all have a right to protect our friends and family, as you say.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

