Last Thursday’s CORR meeting…

August 10, 2006 at 1:19 am | Posted in Journal of Anti-Science meetings | 3 Comments

Last Thurday’s CORR meeting was a bit strange and started with a couple of big announcements (more on that later).


The de-facto leader of CORR, John D. Lehman, mentioned that he will be leaving for a job in Salt Lake City, Utah on the same night he presented information that would lead people to believe that Mormonism is invalid as a religion.

After Dr. Van Stipdonk mentioned a concern that CORR, a student group at Wichita State University, appears to be biased towards anti-science, Lehman said that the only reason that he has focused so much on Creation vs. Evolution is because he thought Dr. Van Stipdonk, Dr. Moore-Jansen, and I wanted him too, but they’re moving on now. Early in Lehman’s presentation, however, anti-science rhetoric made its way into Lehman’s presentation and I asked him to move on, and he agreed to except for a list that implies Biblical prophecy had science right before science did. I was familiar with the list.

On it, among many others, listed under Atomic Disintegration was 2 Peter 3:10.

Here is 2 Peter 3:10 from the King James Version of the Bible printed at bartleby.com.

10 But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; Mt. 24.43 · Lk. 12.39 · 1 Thes. 5.2 · Rev. 16.15 in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.

 

I asked Lehman to read this out loud and he did after Bible could be found. I said, “I’m not talking about the inherency of the Bible or anything theological, but anyone who says melting is the same is anything like atomic disintegration doesn’t know what they’re talking about. Melting isn’t fission, alpha decay, beta decay, it’s just melting. It’s just a phase change.”

Lehman agreed, saying only that it isn’t his list and I asked him why he is using it then. I didn’t receive a satisfactory answer. After that, science was avoided and so I was left out for the most part.

After that Dr. Van Stipdonk, a catholic, did his best to educate Lehman, who supposedly is working on his second PhD regarding religions, on catholicism, which Lehman also takes issue with and presents information against. I’m not going to get into the details here, but I felt Dr. Van Stipdonk did a very adequate job in illustrating that Lehman doesn’t know anything about religion either, which left Dr. Van Stipdonk and I asking the questions, “What are we here for?”

I added, “I’m by no means a theologian, but Dr. Van Stipdonk is a catholic and was raised catholic, and I respect his intellect, knowledge, and desire for honest exchange. Based on your science, I’m forced to believe you don’t know what you’re talking about at all, so what are we supposed to do?”

The meeting ended and Lehman came up to tell us that one day we’ll realize that we’re wrong. I told him that although I do believe he means well, one day he’ll realize he’s been lying to people for decades. It was a bit of an odd exchange.
Here are 24 minutes of audio from the meeting (my batteries died). The player does not play the audio correctly, but this is easily remedied by downloading the file and playing it. Sorry for the inconvenience, and I’m working on fixing it for the player at the link.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I tried to listen to the audio file you had attached from this session, and it was playing very fast. I’m not sure if it is my computer or the file itself, but could you check for the next entry. I enjoy reading your entries here, and applaud your work in this area. Keep up the good work.

  2. Thank you Dr. Man

    I’m trying to fix the audio, it’s some sort of sampling issue that has to do with the imbedded player. You can download it from that link and it should work fine.

  3. […] August 10, 2006 at 12:00 am | In Defending Science | This was originally posted here on August 10, 2006 at the “Defending Science, Scientists, and Non-Scientists” […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

